Lee-Ann Buckskin

Deputy Chair,
Australia Council for the Arts

Lee-Ann Tjunypa Buckskin is a Narungga, Kaurna, Wirangu, Wotjobaluk woman and is well known throughout the Australian, Indigenous and international arts communities. She has a Bachelor of Arts in Communications from the University of South Australia. Lee-Ann has worked across many major Festivals and events within Australia including Adelaide Fringe, Adelaide and Brisbane Festivals of Arts. She has produced four Blak Nite Festival showcases, South Australia’s leading Indigenous Youth Arts showcase as part of the 2005-11 Come Out Festival, The Australian Festival for Young People. Awarded the inaugural South Australian Gladys Elphick Award recognising her work in the arts and the prestigious internationally recognised Sidney Myer Facilitator Prize. The Prize recognises Lee-Ann’s tremendous contribution to Indigenous arts in this country. Lee-Ann together with Tony Rosella and Michelle Nikou were the designers of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander War Memorial, launched in Adelaide November 2013. In 2014 they won South Australia’s premier art prize and won the Ruby Award for Best Work.

Deputy Chair for the Australia Council for the Arts, Lee-Ann is one of seven national champions for the Barangaroo re-development site in Sydney and is Co-Chair of a new International Festival Tarnanthi – Contemporary Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Visual Arts held in South Australia last year. She is a graduate of the Murra Indigenous Business Master Class, at the Melbourne Business School.  Lee-Ann has held a position with Carclew Youth Arts in Adelaide as Manager, Aboriginal Arts Development Program for over ten years with a focus on Pitjantjatjara and Yankunytjatjara communities in remote South Australia.

Key Speaking Points

A Culturally Ambitious Nation

Back to the Top